Andy Seiler's MLB Draft Blog

Home of the MLB Draft Notebook

Names in Consideration for the First Round

Here’s a quick list of all the players I’ve seen linked to a possible first round selection in recent weeks (locks denoted with *):

Steven Strasburg, RHP, San Diego State*
Dustin Ackley, OF, North Carolina*
Aaron Crow, RHP, Ft. Worth Cats*
Tanner Scheppers, RHP, St. Paul Saints*
Grant Green, SS, USC*
Jacob Turner, RHP, Westminster Christian Academy (MO)*
Alex White, RHP, North Carolina*
Tyler Matzek, LHP, Capistrano Valley HS (CA)*
Zack Wheeler, RHP, East Paulding HS (GA)*
Shelby Miller, RHP, Brownwood HS (TX)*
Matt Purke, LHP, Klein HS (TX)
Kyle Gibson, RHP, Missouri*
Mike Leake, RHP, Arizona State*
Tim Wheeler, OF, Sacramento State*
Max Stassi, C, Yuba City HS (CA)
Rex Brothers, LHP, Lipscomb*
Tony Sanchez, C, Boston College
Jiovanni Mier, SS, Bonita HS (CA)
Bobby Borchering, 3B, Bishop Verot HS (FL)*
James Paxton, LHP, Kentucky
Drew Storen, RHP, Stanford
Billy Bullock, RHP, Florida
Donavan Tate, OF, Cartersville HS (GA)
Mike Trout, OF, Millville HS (NJ)*
Andy Oliver, LHP, Oklahoma State
Wil Myers, C, Wesleyan Christian Academy (NC)*
Chad Jenkins, RHP, Kennesaw State
Eric Arnett, RHP, Indiana*
Garrett Gould, RHP, Maize HS (KS)
Chad James, LHP, Yukon HS (OK)*
Kyle Heckathorn, RHP, Kennesaw State
Jared Mitchell, OF, LSU
Rich Poythress, 1B, Georgia
Mike Minor, LHP, Vanderbilt
AJ Pollock, OF, Notre Dame
Tyler Skaggs, LHP, Santa Monica HS (CA)
Matt Hobgood, RHP, Norco HS (CA)
Everett Williams, OF, McCallum HS (TX)
Tommy Joseph, C, Horizon HS (AZ)
Matt Davidson, 3B, Yucaipa HS (CA)
Brett Jackson, OF, California
Aaron Miller, LHP, Baylor
Brody Colvin, RHP, St. Thomas More HS (LA)
Luke Bailey, C, Troup County HS (GA)
David Renfroe, SS/RHP, South Panola HS (MS)
LeVon Washington, OF, Buchholz HS (FL)
Reymond Fuentes, OF, Callego HS (PR)
Marc Krauss, OF, Ohio

I’d be more than a little surprised if someone not on this list goes in the first round.  I count 48 names for 32 slots, though I’m sure there are two more out there that could round out my list to 50.  I also count 19 locks, meaning that it’s likely the remaining 29 names battling it out for 13 slots.  That’s how confusing this draft will likely be.  If you have any more names you’d like me to add, I’ll do so.

May 29, 2009 - Posted by | Draft Lists |

10 Comments »

  1. I’ve heard Krauss being overdrafted in the back half of the first as a proven college bat.

    Comment by Sean | May 29, 2009 | Reply

    • Yeah, I just saw that a few minutes after I posted this, but I was already away from the computer and on my phone. Will revise the list as I hear more names. Thanks!

      Comment by andyseiler | May 30, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’m curious as why you have Wil Myers as a lock but not Max Stassi or Tony Sanchez.

    Comment by Kevin | May 29, 2009 | Reply

    • I figured I’d get this question, as I’ve been all over Stassi compared to Myers in my mocks. The main reason is the ranges in which I’ve seen the two mentioned in terms of experts connecting them to teams. Myers has been mentioned as possible top ten choice, and I’ve seen Stassi as being mentioned as someone who could be around late in the first. That means there’s a chance he falls out altogether. I don’t think it will happen, but I don’t want to label anyone as a lock that I’m not 100% sure will go there.

      Comment by andyseiler | May 30, 2009 | Reply

  3. Do you know what team would consider David Renfroe in the first round? That is, have you heard a specific team’s name looking at Renfroe in the first.

    Comment by Joshua B. | May 29, 2009 | Reply

    • Keith Law has mentioned a few times that the Yankees have been heavily scouting Renfroe, and while he thinks it’s for the second round, there’s a chance that they call his name that high if they’re unhappy with their other choices at #29. He’s got better upside than a lot of the options that might be there, and I’m pretty sure they’re thinking long-term. Renfroe would easily sign for slot at that selection, meaning he’d be attractive to them, as they get no compensation if they risk late bargaining and losing out, like they did with Gerrit Cole a year ago.

      Comment by andyseiler | May 30, 2009 | Reply

  4. Where do you see Slade Heathcott going? He seems to have an impressive set of tools, but between the ACL injury and character issues, I imagine his stock is somewhat down.

    Comment by Eric | May 30, 2009 | Reply

    • I think you hit the nail on the head with the ACL and character issues statement. He hasn’t really hurt his stock considerably, but he’s not taken the step forward the other top prep prospects have. He could have made himself a lot of money this year. As it stands, I have Heathcott going in the late 2nd, and I’m not alone in that observation. Keith Law has connected him to the Phillies, and that wouldn’t surprise me at all. He’s going to take some considerable money to sign, so he might even slide a round or two later, maybe the fourth where someone could work an overnight deal with him between days one and two.

      Comment by andyseiler | May 30, 2009 | Reply

  5. Just wanted to say I’m thrilled I came across this blog. I’ve long enjoyed the mocks and discussion at Sickels’ and a draft blog is much needed. Thanks!

    Comment by erik | May 30, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks for the kind words. Feel free to stop by and comment whenever, and I’m always looking for suggestions that drive the content I produce.

      Comment by andyseiler | May 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

