Andy Seiler's MLB Draft Blog

Home of the MLB Draft Notebook

The First Annual MLB Bonus Baby Re-Draft

I always seem to get questions about how the draft would shake out these days if it were done knowing the end result for player signings and bonus amounts. So, I’ve decided to do something simply for the fun of it. Just like John Sickels has done at Minor League Ball, I’m going to hold a mock draft. I’ll need 29 scouting directors (I’m #30), plus I need input as to what dates are available for you. We’ll be doing five rounds, so plan accordingly.

Use this thread to ask for a team assignment and give me your available schedule. Your team assignment is automatically approved unless someone above you has already asked for it. I’m handling my usual responsibility as the Rangers’ scouting director, so that’s already assigned.

Here’s the rules of the re-draft:

-Be on time, stay for the whole thing.

-Your budget is determined by real life signing bonus amounts for your team. You get to spend how much your team spent for the first TEN rounds. Those numbers are available here from BA. The changes I will make to those numbers have to do with the Royals and Rangers, as Aaron Crow and Tanner Scheppers have yet to sign. The Royals will be given $3 million extra, as that’s reportedly their offer for Crow out now. The Rangers are being assigned $2 million for similar reasons.

That’s about it. Leave your desired team in the comments and your available dates.

August 20, 2009 - Posted by | Re-Draft

21 Comments »

  1. No bump for the Ranger’s 1st rounder turning down 4M? If not then the team will be hard pressed to do any rel moves.. Same can be said with Tampa.

    Comment by Ben | August 20, 2009 | Reply

    • It’s like real life. The Rangers might have signed some guys for a total of $1 million past the tenth round, but that’s irrelevant considering the bigger problem was that they didn’t sign their 9th and 10th rounders, not as much their first. Tampa is fine, because they spent a little more. And besides, I’m giving out ten rounds-worth of money for just five rounds, so everyone should be able to do what they want. The Mets will have the worst time.

      Comment by andyseiler | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’ll take the Pirates. I was the Pirates’ director for John’s mock as well.

    As for potential dates, I’m not really sure. It’d probably be best to do it on a weekday.

    Comment by Jeff | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  3. i will do the royals.

    Comment by keith | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  4. I’ll take the D-Backs.

    Comment by Max | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  5. Oh and weekdays during work hours are best for me.

    Comment by Max | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  6. Braves. Afternoons and some evenings.

    Comment by MPK | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  7. Evenings during the week, Angels

    Comment by ETA | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  8. Oakland Athletics. I am usually available any time, but afternoon or evening works best. Thanks!

    Comment by Brad | August 20, 2009 | Reply

    • Just got word that I’m gonna be away for a while so I probably can’t do this.

      Comment by Eric | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  9. I will do the Orioles

    I’m good at most times.

    Comment by Eric | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  10. I’ll take the Red Sox.

    Any time during the week at night would be fine with me, though I’d prefer to avoid Friday if possible. I can be flexible, though.

    Comment by Matt | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  11. Alright, here’s teams that are gone:

    Texas Rangers
    Pittsburgh Pirates
    Kansas City Royals
    Arizona Diamondbacks
    Atlanta Braves
    Los Angeles Angels
    Oakland Athletics
    Baltimore Orioles
    Boston Red Sox

    That’s 9.

    Comment by andyseiler | August 20, 2009 | Reply

    • See my post above, but I’m not gonna be able to do this, Sorry.

      Comment by bballer2294 | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  12. I’ll do the Rockies. Oh, and I can’t do weekends, but anytime weekday works for me.

    Comment by Matt | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  13. I’ll take the Rays! During the week in the afternoon or at night should be fine with me!

    Comment by Burgi | August 21, 2009 | Reply

  14. I will be happy to take the Cards. During the week is fine with me or really any time.

    Comment by James | August 21, 2009 | Reply

  15. Padres please! I’m best East Coast evenings.

    Comment by David | August 21, 2009 | Reply

  16. Mariners.

    Comment by Matt | August 22, 2009 | Reply

  17. I will take the Washington Nationals

    available anytime after 4pm. Thanks

    Comment by Mike G. | October 7, 2009 | Reply

  18. when is this draft taking place,when will we be notified?

    Comment by Mike G. | October 7, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

